top of page
photo_5269565680238315454_y_edited.png

Research in the  Klimawald

Dendrometer at Klimawald 1.0

How do the planted tree species cope with drought, heat and frost?

In order to study the growth of the seedlings, we installed dendrometer in awald. Dendrometers use fine mechanics to measure changes in trunk diameter. The aim is to investigate how well different tree species are adapted to drought and heat stress. The strategies of the different planted species can be compared.

You can follow the measurements live here:

You want to see the data in more detail? To do this, draw a box around the desired section in the diagram

The trunk diameter of a tree changes due to the growth in thickness and the fluctuations in the water condition of the tree. Different tree species react differently to drought.

Dendrometers were installed on 5 specimens each of the following 3 tree species:

Buche.png

European beech

Fagus sylvatica

 

Native, widespread deciduous tree species. Our saplings have grown well.

Esskastanie.png

Sweet chestnut

Castanea sativa

 

Non-native deciduous tree species, origin south of the Alps. Tree species with the greatest height growth so far at Klimawald 1.0.

Elsbeere.png

Wild service tree

Sorbus torminalis

 

Native deciduous species with good drought tolerance. Only moderate growth so far, the location at Klimawald 1.0 is probably too base-poor.

The trunk thickness of a tree changes due to growth and fluctuations in water status of the trunk. The thickness of the trunk increases permanently due to the formation of new wood and bark cells. In addition, daily fluctuations in trunk diameter can be observed. On dry and warm days, the tree loses more water through its leaves than it can absorb through its roots. Therefore, the cells in the trunk shrink during the day. At night, if there is enough water in the soil, the tree can compensate for the loss, so that the trunk becomes slightly, but measurably, thicker. During longer periods of drought or severe frost, the tree cannot replenish its water supply at night: the trunk diameter falls significantly and only increases again when enough water is available.

Thickness growth in wet years can be compared to that in dry years. It is to be expected that tree species react differently to drought.

Air temperature and precipitation

With our own weather station at Klimawald 1.0 we measure several parameters (e.g. air temperature, precipitation, air humidity and air pressure). As examples, the curves of the air temperature (maximum 365 days) and the precipitation (maximum 30 days) are shown here.

Soil moisture

In order to measure the current soil moisture at a depth of 25 cm and 50 cm, sensors are installed near the selected trees. These measure the currently available amount of water as a percentage of the maximum possible amount of water storage in the soil. After rain, a rapid increase in soil moisture can be observed. The soil constantly loses water through evaporation, sinking of the water in the direction of the groundwater table and water consumption by the plants. The current soil moisture thus shows whether there is a dry period for the plants.

Natural regeneration and survival rates at Klimawald 1.0

On our planted sites the survival rates of the seedlings and natural regeneration should be monitored regularly to contribute to the ongoing research on climate change adapted tree species. This is for example done within Bachelor or Master thesis.

One year after planting the survival rates of the planted trees was almost 90 percent. Details can be observed in the figure.

Fenninger_Überlebensraten.png
Fenninger_Überlebensraten.png

Natural regeneration also offers enormous potential for forest conversion, with about 50,000 saplings per hectare. However, it is to be expected that they will largely consist of tree species that are not or poorly adapted to climate change. Therefore, the combination of natural regeneration and artificial enrichment with alternative tree species is recommended for forest practice.

Bachelor thesis Sophia Fenninger, supervisor Gregor Aas

bottom of page

top of page
photo_5269565680238315454_y_edited.png

Forschung im Klimawald

Dendrometer im Klimawald

Wie kommen die gepflanzten Baumarten mit Trockenheit, Hitze und Frost zurecht?

Um das Wachstum der Setzlinge zu untersuchen, haben wir im Klimawald 1.0 Dendrometer installiert. Dendrometer messen die Änderungen des Stammdurchmessers mit einer feinen Mechanik. Ziel ist es, herauszufinden, wie gut die Baumarten an die zunehmende Trockenheit angepasst sind. Dabei können die unterschiedlichen Strategien der gepflanzten Arten verglichen werden.

Die Messungen könnt ihr hier live verfolgen:

Du willst die Daten genauer sehen? Zieh dazu im Diagramm einen Kasten um den gewünschten Ausschnitt

Der Stammdurchmesser eines Baumes ändert sich durch das Dickenwachstum und die Schwankungen des Wasserzustands des Baumes. Die verschiedenen Baumarten reagieren unterschiedlich auf Trockenheit.

An je 5 Exemplaren der folgenden 3 Baumarten wurden Dendrometer installiert:

Buche.png

Rotbuche

Fagus sylvatica

 

Heimische, weit verbreitete Laubbaumart. Unsere Exemplare sind gut angewachsen.

Esskastanie.png

Esskastanie

Castanea sativa

 

Nicht-heimische Laubbaumart, Herkunft südlich der Alpen. Baumart mit dem bisher größten Höhenwachstum im Klimawald 1.0.

Elsbeere.png

Elsbeere

Sorbus torminalis

 

Heimische Laubbaumart mit guter Trockenheitsverträglichkeit. Bisher nur mäßiger Zuwachs, der Standort im Klimawald ist vermutlich zu basenarm.

Die Stammdicke eines Baumes verändert sich durch Wachstum und Schwankungen des Wasserzustandes des Stamms. Durch die Bildung neuer Holz- und Rindenzellen nimmt die Dicke des Stamms dauerhaft zu. Zusätzlich sind tägliche Schwankungen des Stammdurchmessers zu beobachten. An trockenen und warmen Tagen verliert der Baum mehr Wasser über seine Blätter als er über seine Wurzeln aufnehmen kann. Deshalb schrumpfen die Zellen im Stamm tagsüber. Nachts kann der Baum bei ausreichend Wasser im Boden den Verlust wieder ausgleichen, sodass der Stamm geringfügig, aber messbar, dicker wird. Während längerer Trockenheitsphasen kann der Baum auch nachts seinen Wasservorrat nicht auffüllen: Der Stammdurchmesser fällt deutlich und steigt erst wieder, wenn genügend Wasser verfügbar ist. Auch bei starkem Frost schrumpft der Stammdurchmesser, da Wasser verlagert wird. So schützt sich der Baum gegen Frostschäden.

Das Dickenwachstum in feuchten Jahren kann mit dem in trockenen Jahren verglichen werden. Denn während Trockenheit ist der Dickenzuwachs geringer. Es ist zu erwarten, dass die Baumarten unterschiedlich auf Trockenheit reagieren.

Lufttemperatur und Niederschlag

Mit unserer eigenen Wetterstation messen wir direkt vor Ort unter anderem die Lufttemperatur, die Niederschlagsmenge, die Luftfeuchtigkeit und den Luftdruck. Exemplarisch sind hier die Verläufe der Lufttemperatur (maximal 365 Tage) und des kumulierten Niederschlags (maximal 30 Tage) dargestellt.

Bodenfeuchte

Um die aktuelle Bodenfeuchte in 25 cm und 50 cm Tiefe zu messen, sind in der Nähe der ausgewählten Bäume Sensoren angebracht. Die Sensoren messen den volumetrischen Wassergehalt des Bodens. Nach Regen kann eine Zunahme der Bodenfeuchte beobachtet werden. Durch Verdunstung, Absinken des Wassers in Richtung des Grundwasserspiegels und Wasserverbrauch der Pflanzen nimmt die Bodenfeuchte stetig ab. Die aktuelle Bodenfeuchte bietet somit Informationen dazu, ob die Bäume aktuell Zugang zu Wasser haben oder ob eine Trockenperiode vorliegt.

Naturverjüngung und Überlebensraten im Klimawald 1.0

Auf unseren Pflanzflächen sollen die Überlebensraten der gepflanzten Bäume und die natürlich auftretende Verjüngung regelmäßig erfasst werden, um zur Forschung an geeigneten Baumarten unter Bedingungen des Klimawandels beizutragen. Dies geschieht zum Beispiel im Rahmen von Abschlussarbeiten.

Ein Jahr nach der Pflanzung lag die Überlebensrate der Setzlinge bei fast 90 Prozent. Details könnt ihr der Graphik entnehmen.

Fenninger_Überlebensraten.png
Fenninger_Überlebensraten.png

Die Naturverjüngung bietet zudem ein enormes Potenzial für den Waldumbau mit etwa 50.000 Jungpflanzen pro Hektar. Es ist jedoch zu erwarten, dass diese zu einem großen Teil aus Baumarten besteht, die nicht oder schlecht an den Klimawandel angepasst sind. Für die Praxis empfehlenswert ist deshalb die Kombination von Naturverjüngung und künstliche Anreicherung mit alternativen Baumarten.

Bachelorthesis Sophia Fenninger, Betreuung durch Dr. Gregor Aas

bottom of page