Let's plant
together.

Photo: Kun Woo Ro

Organizers

KakaoTalk_20190313_233915142.png

Theresa Landwehr

Germany | since 2019

In November 2018, Theresa and her fellow students Kun, Nikunj and Ahram initiated the „Klimawald Bayreuth“. Since then, the project has gained a lot of attention, broad appeal and national recognition (at least since the award of the "Blauer Kompass 2020" by the Federal Environment Agency). They would never have thought that Klimawald Bayreuth, which grew out of a university seminar on project management, would one day attract such an attention. Theresa is proud to still be an integral part of Klimawald Bayreuth and to contribute to its continuation and development.

Through her studies in Geography, Sociology, Global Change Ecology and Environmental Law, Theresa tries to approach the complex relationships between humans and the environment. With her ability to view the bigger picture, she manages to involve actors from science, civil society and politics in order to find common solutions for the diverse challenges of our time.

In the case of Klimawald Bayreuth, she is not only concerned with preserving the forest with its numerous ecosystem services, but also with communicating them in order to sensitize general public to the multifaceted interactions between forests, climate and humans. For Theresa, Bayreuth's climate forests are above all a place for learning from and with one another.

Steffen.jpg

Steffen Schwardmann

Germany | since 2020

Steffen is fascinated by social-ecological systems and how the two relate to each other. He wants to find ways to communicate respectfully even if the topic is controversial. He has collected some vital experience in different organizations as an intern, a student assistant, and a volunteer. Now he has decided to contribute what he has learned to continue volunteering in projects that work towards the great turning. His current goal is to work at the intersection of political and global change science. In his podcast Stories of Climate Change Hope he wants to give people the chance to talk about their personal engagement. At the same time, he hopes that other people will discover power for their personal commitment.

sandra.PNG

Sandra Zimmermann

Germany | since 2020

Ever since High School, Sandra felt a deep urge to be a positive change in this world. On the way to finding her purpose, she became a passionate activist who has fought for gender equality in a feminist activist group as well as a turnaround in local transportation politics. It is mainly her volunteering work - her true passion -  through which she gains the strength and motivation to not give up on this planet, yet. After finishing her studies in environmental engineering, Sandra moved to Bayreuth in order to do her Master’s in Global Change Ecology and Environmental Law as a foundation for a hopefully meaningful career in her life. The Klimawald, to her, was the perfect opportunity to contribute to a positive change in this world. Especially as it was the local forests that made her fall in love with Bayreuth. Maintaining these for future generations is a true honor.

selina.PNG

Selina Scheer

Germany | since 2020

Selina has been very interested in the state of the environment and a sustainable way of life since her school days. Especially her time in nature makes her aware again and again of how important an intact environment is and how thoughtlessly mankind treats it. That is why Selina has been involved in environmental organizations since her bachelor's degree, informing people about the value of the environment and the threats it faces from humans. In her Master Global Change Ecology, Selina heard about the climate forest project and was immediately interested in supporting the project. She likes the idea of doing something for nature and against the climate crisis, but also of involving society in order to raise awareness about the importance of the forest for climate change.

manuela.PNG

Manuela Zindler

Germany | since 2020

Manuela loves to spend her time outside in nature. Therefore, one of her biggest wishes is to protect nature, which suffers under increasing negative human impacts, and wants to actively contribute to combat climate change. She is convinced that every single person can contribute to protect our nature and climate and wants to motivate people to live their life more sustainably and more climate friendly. By studying Geography in her Bachelor and now studying her Masters Global Change Ecology she could gather a lot of knowledge about the environment and socio-ecological processes, which she wants to apply. Working in the project Klimawald Bayreuth is very important for her, as it combines her two big desires: actively contributing to the protection of our nature and climate as well as to include and inform society.

Pia_edited_edited.jpg

Pia Bradler

Germany| since 2021

Pia is particularly interested in the ecological aspects of forestry, in making forests more resilient for future climate and in spreading the word about topics of the natural world. She likes the hands-on approach of the project and is looking forward to working in close exchange with project partners and the wider public. Within the project, she wants to focus on monitoring the success of the planting strategies in the different Klimawald sites and also on using the sites as spaces for environmental education and exchange with the public.

9878_edited.jpg

Jana Zeppan

Germany | since 2021

Jana is always on the search for positive and sustainable ideas. She likes being outdoors and enjoys the silence but also the diversity that forests provide. During the course of her studies she learnt not only to understand the impacts of global change but also to find possible solutions to them. And that is exactly why she likes Klimawald: Because the project does not only point at problems but rather provides an active approach and provides an approach to prepare forests for the future. The combination of scientific ideas, working with practitioners, environmental education and including Bayreuth citizens is in her opinion the ideal way to develop and spread sustainable strategies.

Clarissa_edited.jpg

Clarissa Schmelzle

Germany | since 2021

Clarissa grew up right on the edge of the forest and enjoys being out in the forest every time. That's why it's a concern to her to preserve the forest in all its diversity in the future. After her Bachelor's degree in International Management, she decided to pursue a Master's degree in Global Change Ecology in Bayreuth because of this fascination with nature. For her, the Klimawald project is a great opportunity, not only to draw attention to the threat posed to the forest by climate change, but also to demonstrate solutions and become active together with the local citizens. Her hope is that the idea of the Klimawald will spread among forest owners far beyond Bayreuth.

Kira_Meyer.jpeg

Kira Meyer

Germany| since 2021

Kira is always looking for possibilities to actively take part in the fight against climate change impacts. She also wants to establish interdisciplinary approaches that animate people to join her in this endeavour. The reconfiguration and interaction with people are what she thinks is most interesting in this project. In her Bachelor-Studies, a focus was set on the expansion of climate change challenges and their interpretation beyond a solely ecological perception. Instead, societal aspects need to be encountered just as much. Therefore, Kira tries to integrate those aspects into her more specialized Masters programme of Biodiversity and Ecology, leading to the establishment of not only more resilient ecosystems, but also structural changes towards a more sustainable future.

Alumni

profile1-1_edited_1200.jpg

Kun Woo Ro

Südkorea | Team 2019

Kun grew up in a megacity, the Seoul Capital Area. In his childhood, books and documentary films were the only way for him to get to know the earth. Soon he was fascinated by giant organisms such as whales, elephants, and trees. This later led him to study forest ecology and visit redwood forests in California as an exchange student. For him, it is a privilege to be able to take care of the earth, as most city dwellers simply cannot get close enough to nature to feel so connected to it. With the Klimawald project he wants to achieve that people not only learn or study about the climate issue but experience it with their own hands.

nikunj.jpg

Nikunj Pathak

Indien | Team 2019

Born and raised in Chhindwara a town situated in the foothills of Satpuda mountains in central India. Nikunj grew up watching Kipling's Jungle Book which was based on the forests of Pench just about 30 miles from his hometown. His interest in ecology began when he first read about the declining tiger population in the forest. This motivated him to pursue a degree in Environmental Science. He worked as a researcher for a few years before moving to Bayreuth for pursuing a Master's in Global Change Ecology. After completing studies he wants to utilize newly acquired knowledge and interpersonal skills to bring in positive change in society. For him, Klimawald is not just a project but a place to implement new ideas, design innovative solutions, and initiate efficient actions.

ahram.jpg

Ahram Chae

Südkorea | Team 2019

As a visual artist, Ahram had deep interests in the relation between people and their built environment in urban discourse. She finished her master's degree in public art in Weimar, Germany, after studying contemporary art in South Korea. To her whose background is centered in creative areas, climate change is still something quite new. However, in terms of the matter of justice, the climate crisis is not so much different from what she sees as important in urban issues. As a designer, Ahram is passionate to create fun-looking campaigns for Klimawald Bayreuth, hoping the visual strategies help people get motivated more easily.

Lorina

Lorina Ivanova

Bulgaria| Team 2020

Pursuing her master’s degree in Environmental Geography, Lorina wants to complement her bachelor’s degree in Environmental Economics and Management after living in a metropolitan area with increased levels of CO2 and disturbed ecosystems. The in-depth study of nature, its functions, and its protection make her understand the universal processes and how the environment is fighting for its balance. Joining the Klimawald Bayreuth occurs to be achieving one of her goals - to be part of a team, discussing new ideas and environmental problem-solving.

Supervisors

KakaoTalk_20190314_165256379.jpg

Dr. Birgit Thies

Head of the BayCEER Office

KakaoTalk_20190314_165116333.png

Dr. Gregor Aas

Head of the Ecological Botanical Garden

vlcsnap-2020-04-01-17h10m38s210_edited.j

Dirk Muschik

Forester Bayreuth

Supporters

Forum1.5

BcG Alumni e.V.

Bund der Deutschen

Katholischen Jugend Bayreuth

Friends of

Global Change Ecology e.V.

Die Summer e.V.

...and you!

Lasst uns gemeinsam pflanzen.

Photo: Kun Woo Ro

Orgateam

Theresa Landwehr

Deutschland | seit 2019

Im November 2018 hat Theresa gemeinsam mit ihren Kommiliton*innen Kun, Nikunj und Ahram den Klimawald Bayreuth ins Leben gerufen. Seither hat das Projekt große öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit erlangt, breiten Anklang gefunden und überregionale Bekanntheit erfahren (spätestens seit der Auszeichnung mit dem „Blauen Kompass 2020“ durch das Umweltbundesamt). Nie hätten sie gedacht, dass der Klimawald Bayreuth, aus einem Uni-Seminar zum Thema Projektmanagement erwachsen, einmal solch hohe Wellen schlagen wird. Theresa ist stolz darauf, nach wie vor fester Bestandteil des Klimawald Bayreuths zu sein, und zu dessen Fortgang und Weiterentwicklung beizutragen.

Durch ihr Studium in Geographie, Soziologie, Global Change Ecology und Umweltrecht versucht Theresa sich den komplexen Beziehungen zwischen Mensch und Umwelt zu nähern. Mit ihrem Blick fürs Ganze schafft sie es, Akteur*innen aus Wissenschaft, Zivilgesellschaft und Politik einzubinden und gemeinsam nach Lösungen für die vielfältigen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit zu suchen.

Beim Klimawald Bayreuth geht es ihr nicht nur um die Bewahrung des Waldes mit seinen zahlreichen Ökosystemleistungen, sondern ebenso um deren Kommunikation, um auch die breite Öffentlichkeit für die vielseitigen Wechselwirkungen zwischen Wald, Klima und Mensch zu sensibilisieren. Die Klimawälder Bayreuths sind für sie immer auch ein Ort des Voneinander- und Miteinander-Lernens.

Steffen Schwardmann

Deutschland |seit 2020

Steffen ist fasziniert von sozial-ökologischen Systemen und deren Beziehung zueinander. Er will Wege finden, respektvoll zu kommunizieren, auch wenn das Thema kontrovers ist. Als Praktikant, studentische Hilfskraft und Freiwilliger in verschiedenen Organisationen hat er wichtige Erfahrungen gesammelt. Jetzt will er das Gelernte in Projekte einbringen, die auf "the great turning" (große Transformation) hinarbeiten. Sein aktuelles Ziel ist es, an der Schnittstelle zwischen Politik und Global Change-Forschung zu arbeiten. In seinem Podcast Stories of Climate Change Hope möchte er Menschen die Chance geben, über ihr Engagement zu berichten. Gleichzeitig hofft er, dass so andere Menschen Kraft für ihr persönliches Engagement entdecken.

Sandra Zimmermann

Deutschland | seit 2020

Bereits in ihrer Schulzeit verspürte Sandra das Bedürfnis diesen Planeten zum Besseren zu verändern. So engagierte sie sich über die Jahre in sozial als auch umweltpolitisch beispielsweise  in einem feministischen Kollektiv als auch in  kommunalpolitischen Bürger*innenarbeit hin zu einer Transportwende. Stets war es ihr Aktivismus,  aus dem sie Kraft, Energie und Motivation, auch für ihre Studien in Umweltingenieurwesen, zog. Nach ihrem Umzug nach Bayreuth, um dort mit ihren Studien in Global Change Ecology sowie Umweltrecht auch die Basis für eine sinnstiftende berufliche Laufbahn zu legen, stieß sie mit großer Begeisterung auf das Projekt, das ihre Kommiliton*innen gegründet haben. Der Klimawald bietet ihr die Möglichkeit die Bayreuther Wälder als ihren persönlich liebgewonnenen Ruhepol auch für zukünftige Generationen zu erhalten, so dass sie sich mit großer Begeisterung für die Vergrößerung des Projektes engagiert.

Lorina Ivanova

Bulgarien | seit 2020

Lorina strebt ihren Master-Studium in Umweltgeographie an. Sie möchte ihren Bachelor-Abschluss in Umweltökonomie und -management ergänzen, nachdem sie in einem Ballungsgebiet mit erhöhtem CO2-Gehalt und gestörten Ökosystemen lebt. Die eingehende Beschäftigung mit der Natur, ihren Funktionen und ihrem Schutz lässt sie die universellen Prozesse verstehen und wie die Umwelt um ihr Gleichgewicht kämpft. Mit dem Eintritt in den Klimawald Bayreuth scheint sich eines ihrer Ziele zu erfüllen - Teil eines Teams zu sein, neue Ideen zu diskutieren und Umweltprobleme zu lösen.

Selina Scheer

Deutschland | seit 2020

Selina interessiert sich seit der Schulzeit sehr für den Zustand der Umwelt und eine nachhaltige Lebensweise. Gerade die Zeit in der Natur macht ihr immer wieder bewusst, wie wichtig eine intakte Umwelt ist und wie gedankenlos die Menschheit mit ihr umgeht. Deshalb engagiert sich Selina seit ihres Bachelorstudiums in Umweltorganisationen, um die Leute über den Wert der Umwelt und ihre Bedrohungen durch den Menschen zu informieren. In ihrem Master Global Change Ecology hat Selina von dem Klimawaldprojekt gehört und hatte sofort Interesse das Projekt zu unterstützen. Ihr gefällt die Idee, selber etwas für die Natur und gegen die Klimakriese zu unternehmen, aber auch die Gesellschaft mit einzubeziehen, um Bewusstsein über die Wichtigkeit des Waldes auch für den Klimawandel zu schaffen.

Manuela Zindler

Deutschland | seit 2020

Manuela verbringt ihre Freizeit am liebsten draußen in der Natur. Mit ihr größtes Anliegen ist es deshalb die Natur zu schützen, die durch den Menschen zunehmend stärker beeinflusst wird, und aktiv einen Beitrag gegen den Klimawandel zu leisten. Sie ist überzeugt, dass jeder etwas zum Natur- und Klimaschutz beitragen kann und möchte die Menschen motivieren, ihr Leben nachhaltiger und klimaschonender zu gestalten. Durch das Studium Geographie im Bachelor und ihr momentanes Masterstudium Global Change Ecology konnte sie viel Wissen über die Umwelt und sozio-ökologische Prozesse erfahren. Dieses Wissen möchte sie in zukünftigen Klimaschutzprojekten anwenden. Das Projekt Klimawald Bayreuth liegt ihr besonders am Herzen, weil es genau ihre zwei Wünsche vereint aktiv etwas gegen den Klimawandel und die Natur zu schützen sowie die Gesellschaft zu informieren und mit einzubeziehen.

Pia Bradler

Deutschland | seit 2021

Pia interessiert sich besonders für die ökologischen Aspekte der Forstwirtschaft und dafür, Wälder resilienter für das zukünftige Klima zu gestalten. Am Projekt schätzt sie die praktische Arbeit und die Möglichkeit, aktiv zu handeln. Sie freut sich auf Zusammenarbeit mit Projektpartner*innen und der Öffentlichkeit. Ein wichtiger Fokus im Projekt ist für sie das Monitoring des Erfolges der Planzstrategien auf den Flächen sowie die Umweltbildung durch verschiedene Veranstaltungen und Autausch mit der Öffentlichkeit.

Jana Zeppan

Deutschland | seit 2021

Jana ist stets auf der Suche nach nachhaltigen Ideen und Ansätzen. In ihrer Freizeit ist sie gerne draußen unterwegs und genießt sowohl die Ruhe, als auch die Vielfalt die Wälder zu bieten haben. In ihrem Studium der Umweltwissenschaften in Lüneburg und jetzt Global Change Ecology lernt sie, nicht nur die Einflüsse des globalen Wandels zu verstehen, sondern auch Lösungsmöglichkeiten zu finden. Gerade deshalb ist der Klimawald für sie ein tolles Projekt, da nicht nur Probleme aufgezeigt, sondern aktiv gehandelt wird. Die Kombination aus Wissenschaft, Arbeit mit Praxispartner*innen, Umweltbildung und dem Einbezug Bayreuther Bürger*innen ist für sie die ideale Möglichkeit, zukunftsfähige Strategien zu entwickeln und verbreiten.

Clarissa Schmelzle

Deutschland | seit 2021

Clarissa ist direkt am Waldrand aufgewachsen und genießt es jedes Mal aufs Neue, im Wald unterwegs zu sein. Deshalb liegt es ihr am Herzen den Wald in seiner ganzen Vielfalt auch in Zukunft zu erhalten. Nach ihrem Bachelorstudium in International Management entschied sie sich aufgrund dieser Faszination von der Natur für den Master Global Change Ecology in Bayreuth. Im Klimawald-Projekt sieht sie eine tolle Möglichkeit, nicht nur auf die Bedrohung des Waldes durch den Klimawandel aufmerksam zu machen, sondern Lösungen aufzuzeigen und gemeinsam mit der Bevölkerung aktiv zu werden. Ihre Hoffnung ist es, dass sich die Idee des Klimawaldes dadurch bei Waldbesitzern weit über Bayreuth hinaus verbreitet.

Diana Pineda Fernández

Mexiko| seit 2021

Diana studiert gerade im 2.Semester des Masterstudiengangs „Global Change Ecology“ an der Universität Bayreuth. Vor ihrem Studium an der Universität Bayreuth hat sie in Mexiko den Bachelorstudiengang „Environmental Science“ erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Sie wurde in Mexiko geboren und hat ein Auslandssemester in Korea studiert, deshalb arbeitet sie sehr gerne in internationalen Arbeitsumfeldern. Sie interessiert sich sehr für Nachhaltigkeit und erneuerbare Energie und würde sich als proaktive und freundliche Person beschreiben.

Alumni

Kun Woo Ro

Südkorea | Team 2019

Kun wuchs in einer Megacity auf, dem Gebiet der Hauptstadt Seoul. In seiner Kindheit waren Bücher und Dokumentarfilme die einzige Möglichkeit für ihn, die Erde kennen zu lernen. Bald war er von Riesenorganismen wie Walen, Elefanten und Bäumen fasziniert. Dies führte ihn später dazu, Waldökologie zu studieren und als Austauschschüler Mammutwälder in Kalifornien zu besuchen. Für ihn ist es ein Privileg, sich um die Erde zu kümmern, da die meisten Stadtbewohner einfach nicht nah genug an die Natur herankommen, um sich ihr so verbunden zu fühlen. Mit dem Klimawald-Projekt möchte er erreichen, dass die Menschen nicht nur zur Klimafrage lernen oder studieren, sondern sie mit eigenen Händen erleben.

Nikunj Pathak

Indien | Team 2019

Geboren und aufgewachsen ist Nikunj in Chhindwara, einer Stadt an den Ausläufern des Satpuda-Gebirges in Zentralindien. Nikunj wuchs mit Kiplings Dschungelbuch auf, das auf den Wäldern von Pench nur etwa 30 Meilen von seiner Heimatstadt entfernt basiert. Sein Interesse an der Ökologie wurde geweckt, als er zum ersten Mal über die abnehmende Tigerpopulation im Wald las. Er arbeitete einige Jahre lang als Forscher, bevor er nach Bayreuth zog, um dort seinen Master in Global Change Ecology zu machen. Nach Abschluss des Studiums möchte er das neu erworbene Wissen und zwischenmenschliche Sozialkompetenz nutzen, um positive Veränderungen in der Gesellschaft herbeizuführen. Für ihn ist der Klimawald nicht nur ein Projekt, sondern ein Ort, um neue Ideen umzusetzen, innovative Lösungen zu entwerfen und effiziente Aktionen zu initiieren.

Ahram Chae

Südkorea | Team 2019

Als bildende Künstlerin hatte Ahram ein tiefes Interesse an der Beziehung zwischen Menschen und ihrer gebauten Umwelt im städtischen Umfeld. Nach einem Studium der zeitgenössischen Kunst in Südkorea schloss sie ihren Master in öffentlicher Kunst in Weimar ab. Für sie, deren Hintergrund sich auf kreative Bereiche konzentriert, ist der Klimawandel noch etwas ganz Neues. In Bezug auf die Frage nach Gerechtigkeit unterscheidet sich die Klimakrise jedoch nicht so sehr von dem, was sie in städtischen Planungsfragen für wichtig hält. Als Designerin entwirft Ahram mit Leidenschaft witzige Kampagnen für den Klimawald Bayreuth und hofft, dass die visuelle Anreize den Menschen helfen, sich leichter zu motivieren.

Betreuung

Dr. Birgit Thies

Leitung BayCEER Geschäftsstelle

Dr. Gregor Aas

Leitung Ökologisch-Botanischer Garten

Dirk Muschik

Stadtförsterei Bayreuth

Unterstützer

Forum1.5

BcG Alumni e.V.

Bund der Deutschen

Katholischen Jugend Bayreuth

Friends of

Global Change Ecology e.V.

Die Summer e.V.

...und Du!